Your annotated bibliography must follow these requirements:
-
List all sources that you consulted in developing your entry
-
Combine photos or other materials from the same collection into a single citation. See nhd.org/annotated-bibliography.
-
Separate your bibliography into two sections: one for primary sources and one for secondary sources.
-
Do not attach primary or secondary materials to your annotated bibliography.
-
Do not include your annotated bibliography in the word count.
-
Each citation must include a brief annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to provide information about your research process, not to provide analysis to circumvent the word count.
-
Each annotation must be no more than two or three sentences.
-
The annotation should explain the following:
-
How you used the source
-
How the source helped you to understand the topic
PRIMARY SOURCE WITHIN A SECONDARY SOURCE
Historians and others who write secondary materials often include excerpts or images from primary material. If you want to use primary material that you find in a secondary source, try to locate and examine the original primary material. If that is not possible, you may use the material and cite it in your bibliography in one of the two ways below. Consult your chosen style guide for the correct way to format the citation.
1. If the primary material is included in its entirety and is unedited, you may cite it as a primary source in your bibliography.
2. If only a portion of the primary material, such as an excerpt or a quote, is included, you must cite it as a source within a source and place it in the secondary source section of your bibliography. In both cases, use your annotation to explain how you used the material.
